American Idol Top 10- Recap

Allison Iraheta NAILED her song tonight!  My favorite of the night.

Allison Iraheta NAILED her song tonight! My favorite of the night.

Alright, so finally we can get this inaugural not-political post rolling tonight!  It’s about time.  Basically how this is going to work is every week I’m going to post my recap of the show.  It’s not going to be in-depth recap by any means, just a short summary of the song, how a think they did, and maybe a smaller little tidbit.  I’m probably just going to do it in real-time; updating the post as each contestant sings.  It’s kind of like a play-by-play of sorts.  Also, the Poll of the Day is going to be American Idol related.  And without further ado, here’s the show:

Tonight’s theme is Motown (Oh gosh, this is going to be eventful, I’m sure.) and Smokey Robinson is mentoring.

Starting off tonight’s show is Matt Giraud, who occasionally sounds like he’s singing on top of a washing machine.  He is singing “Let’s Get it On”.  My first question is “Is that American Idol appropriate?” :).  He starts out sitting at the piano, but then rises up for the ending.  Overall, I thought it was good, but I’m not a huge fan.  I am still a little hesitant with Matt because his audition was not good, and neither was his first Semi-final performance.  All the songs that he sings are the same kind of thing, so I think he might be a one trick pony.  The judges loved him and I’m sure he’ll be back next week.

Second is Kris Allen singing “How Sweet it Is”.  Kris is a likeable guy and I imagine he is going to go quite far in this competition.  He did a good job on his song and brought out the guitar again.  Really upbeat, entertaining performance.  I like this much more than Matt.  The judges love this one too, though Simon says he should become more conceited.  No Simon, no more ego is needed on this show.  You use it all up.  Thank you.  I know he’ll be back next week.

Next up is Scott MacIntyre, who is nearly blind.  He’s singing “You Can’t Hurry Love”, and I’m not going to lie.  He’s not good at all.  He’s almost kind of horrible.  I admire him for overcoming his obstacles and persevering, but I don’t know that American Idol is the best thing for him.  America’s Got Talent, however, is something that I think he would have no problem with.  I think at this point, the considerable majority of his votes are coming from people voting based on his backstory, which is compelling.  He’s just a bad singer in a singing competition, which doesn’t jive.  The judges didn’t really like it, and Simon said he could do better.  I doubt he’ll go home at this point, but I could be wrong.  His backstory alone can get him to probably Top 8.

Next up is Megan Joy, the artist previously known as Megan Joy Corkery.  She sings “For Once in My Life”.

Unfortunately, Megan Joy was not at her best.

Unfortunately, Megan Joy was not at her best.

Megan is interesting to me.  She’s a gorgeous girl, and her voice is very original.  However, this vocal is not really good.  It’s kind of all over the place.  Actually it’s very all over the place.  BUT, let me say this:  I like it regardless.  I think Megan is one of the most enjoyable contestants that have ever been on the show and I really would hate to see her go.  It would be a shame.  The judges rip her to shreds, but she takes it smiling and laughing all the way through.  Good job, Megan!  Simon says she’s in trouble, but I might vote for the first time in my life to make sure that doesn’t happen.

After Megan is Anoop Desai, who is still on the show by sheer luck.  He lost out in the Semis, but was put back in on Wildcard.  He then had the worst performance, in my opinion, of the Top 13 show, but lucked out and made it through.  I don’t like Anoop at all.  He just seems like he takes himself entirely too seriously.  His song is “Ooh Baby Baby”, and he did okay.  Parts were good, parts were dreadful.  His falsetto notes sound like forks scratched across a plate at some points, which is never good.  The judges think Anoop did great, though Simon said to liven it up.  He’s likely not going anywhere.

Next we have Michael Sarver, who, in my opinion, has no business being on American Idol.  Not at the stage, at least.  He said he’s been sick, and he is singing “Ain’t Too Proud to Beg”.  Oh man, this just proves my point about his not deserving to be here.  He is not good.  Not at all.  The performance hurt my ears in places.  I think Michael is just a likeable guy that would be good at a karaoke party.  His voice cracks and he is just not doing a good job.  The judges attacked him like they did Megan, though I wouldn’t be surprised to see him go.

After Michael is Lil Rounds, or “Little Rounds” as Simon would say.  Lil chose “Heatwave”, which was a mistake.  She did not work it out, as Randy would say.  I expected Lil to blow it out on Motown night but this is lame.  I think she is trying to see if she yell loud enough to not require a microphone.  My lil problem with Lil (Had to) is that she is not at all original.  Her sound can be found in hundreds of other artists, and, quite frankly, there is no need for more.  The judges weren’t crazy about it, but I don’t imagine she is going home.

Next we have Adam Lambert, who weirds me out with his banshee wailing.  This week, however, he chose to change it up and is, for the first time, without nail polish.  For the first time this season, I kind of like Adam’s performance.  He toned down the wailing, and actually sang this like a normal human with a killer range.  Some of those notes were RIDICULOUS.  He did great.  Honestly, if I had to pick a winner at this point, it’s Adam.  He got the praise he deserved from the judges and he is CERTAINLY not going anywhere.  Hopefully next week he’ll bring back the less eccentric, more *conservative* Adam.  And there is my political refernce for the night.

After Adam is Danny Gokey, who is my least favorite contestant to ever be on the show.  For those that don’t know his backstory (I don’t know how you could miss it), his wife passed away before his audition, and I feel like he’s used that a little too much for his advantage.  I think his late-wife deserves a little more respect.  But anyway, about his performance:  He sang “Get Ready”, and It was okay.  I don’t like it really at all, but it wasn’t terrible.  I’m just horribly biased.  Simon said it was not good, the others liked it (I think.  I phased out during the critque).

Finally, is Allison Iraheta, who is my favorite.  This girl is incredible.  Her song is “Papa Was a Rolling Stone”, and though she had lyrics trouble during rehearsals, she NAILED this performance.  This was my favorite performance of the night by far.  Allison has a truly amazing voice, and she sounds years beyond her young age of 16 (Which the judges are more than happy to remind us of EVERY WEEK.).  I will definitely be buying this one on iTunes tomorrow night.  Can’t wait.  The judges loved it, and then the show is over.

Tomorrow night’s show is going to be FULL of special performances:  In addition to the group meddley (Meh.) we will get to see Ruben Studdard, Smokey Robinson dueting with Joss Stone, and Stevie Wonder.  What a night!  That wraps up our American Idol recap for this week; hope to see you tomorrow for our results show follow-up recap!

What did you think of tonight?  Who was your favorite of the night?  And who do you think will go home?  Don’t forget to leave your comments below or send us an e-mail at theconservativejournal@gmail.com.  Also, look for the American Idol “Poll of the Day” in just a bit.

Thanks for reading!

Rick

4 Comments

Filed under American Idol, Entertainment, Television

4 responses to “American Idol Top 10- Recap

  1. Pingback: Poll of the Day: Who Was Your Favorite on American Idol? « The Conservative Journal

  2. Pingback: Week In Review: March 22nd-28th « The Conservative Journal

  3. Pingback: Month in Review: March 2009 « The Conservative Journal

  4. Pingback: Week In Review: March 29th- April 4th « The Conservative Journal

Leave a Reply

