American Idol Top 9 Recap

Welcome everyone to No Politics Tuesday at The Conservative Journal!  Glad you’re hear.  Tonight, as I did last week, I’m going to recap American Idol as the performances are aired.  Feel to comment on the performances and check out other articles at The Conservative Journal in between performances.  Once again, thanks for stopping by!

Any song, as long as it was popular on iTunes.  Is that a theme?

Any song, as long as it was popular on iTunes. Is that a theme?

It’s time!  American Idol Top 9 performance show starts now!  What’s tonight theme you ask?  Well, there has been much debate over this week’s theme which Ryan describes as “any song as long as it is a popular download”.  Huh?  That’s not a theme.  They’re running out of ideas.  Anyway, starting off tonight is…

Anoop Desai singing Usher’s “Caught Up”.  He did okay, though most of the song was either one extreme or another.  I think this was a weird song choice for Anoop.  I’m not a fan of Anoop really ever, but he is better suited with slower songs.  Randy thought it was a good performance, bad song choice.  Simon said the whole thing gave him a headache.  That’s kind of harsh; it wasn’t that bad.  This is going to be a night, I can already tell.  Next up is…

Megan Joy singing “Turn Your Lights Down Low” by Bob Marley and Lauryn Hill.  Wow, the little clip of her practicing sounds really good!  I really like this performance from Megan.  She sounds really good, and she looks great.  The song suits her voice really well.  She has the Duffy/Amy Winehouse sans drugs sound, which is really big now.  I liked this a lot.  Kara thinks she is in trouble because she doesn’t like the song choice?  I thought this song fit her so well.  I guess I’m crazy.  Paula thinks she’s not surprising enough, Simon thinks the song was boring and indulgent.  Well, hopefully the voters pull through for Megan.  She pulls some weird faces during the number call which make me love her more.  Vote for Megan at 1-866-436-5702!  Next up is…

Danny Gokey singing “What Hurts the Most” by Rascal Flatts.  Danny thinks everyone likes Rascal Flatts.  Wrong, I don’t.  Yet another reason I don’ t like Danny.  Kidding, only kidding.  Here’s my issue with Danny:  Once again, he is a good singer, but he’s not like able.  At all.  I get so annoyed by him every time he walks on stage.  But he sounds really good tonight, I’ll give him that.  As much as I hate to admit it, he’s going to be on my t.v. until the top 3 at the very least, most likely until the finale.  Paula said she’d hit repeat, Simon thought it was his best performance and he was miles ahead of the first two tonight (not Megan), Randy thinks the show starts here.  Next up is…

Allison Iraheta singing “Don’t Speak” by No Doubt.  Wow, Allison is bringing her guitar out!  Hopefully she nails

Allison Iraheta was one of the best once again!

Allison Iraheta was one of the best once again!

that.  I think this song suits Allison!  She sounds good as usual.  I think this song will probably sound even better in the studio.  She added some extra stuff into that song and I liked it.  Not as good as last week, but I’ll be her download tomorrow I’m sure.  Randy doesn’t like the clothes, Kara doesn’t like the clothes, Paula likes the clothes, Simon doesn’t like the clothes.  The judges conversation is all about her clothes and a little “Oh you sing great” discreetly thrown in.  That is frustrating.  Everyone vote for Allison too, 1-866-436-5704!  Next up is..

Scott MacIntyre singing “Just the Way You Are” by Billy Joel.  Scott is going to perform with just the piano tonight.  Scott is just never going to be a great singer, and at this point I’d say he’s definitely the weakest link.  I think it’s WONDERFUL that he has managed to overcome adversity and be a talented pianist and an okay singer, but American Idol is not the platform for that.  America’s Got Talent is much better suited for him.  Having said that, this performance is much better than we’ve seen him.  Good job Scott.  Still probably second worst, but good for Scott!  The judges liked his risk and thought it was his best.  Next up is…

Matt Giraud singing “You Found Me” by The Fray.  I have to say, that’s quite a risk picking a song that’s currently popular, though that could potentially pay off big time.  I can tell he’s really nervous, but I think it’s ok.  The goat vibrato/I’m-singing-on-a-washing-machine voice is kind of back, though.  Not really loving this arrangement of the song.  It’s not horrible, but it’s just okay.  Paula thinks he didn’t display what they loved and that it was bad like the Coldplay in the Semi-finals, Simon didn’t like it, Randy thought he should have done One Republic, Kara doesn’t think he should go home.  Next up is…

Lil Rounds singing “Surrender” by Celine Dion.  Big song, Lil!  This could be really bad or really good.  It’s just kind of meh.  She has a good voice, she’s just not original.  This whole diva R&B soul jam has been done SOOO many times before on American Idol, and everywhere else.  The performance was good though.  The judges thought it was good vocals, wrong song choice.  Simon thought it sounded like a wedding singer.  I don’t think Lil has anything to worry about, but we’ll see.  They just showed her kids so that will earn several hundred thousand votes.  Dang producers meddling in the vote.  Next up is…

Unfortunately, Adam was back to his screaming self.

Unfortunately, Adam was back to his screaming self.

Adam Lambert singing “Play That Funky Music” by Wild Cherry.  Oh man, I can already tell this is going to be absurd.  Just when Adam was beginning to be bearable!  Maybe I’m wrong.  Nope, I’m right.  More of that shreiking such.  The old Adam is back in full force.  Blah.  Several seconds go by at a time with nothing but incoherent banshee caterwauling.  Everyone’s going to love it though.  Paula thinks he’s got staying power, Simon thought it was original and great, Randy thought he “worked it out”, and Kara loved it.  He’s probably going to win, unfortunately.  Last tonight is…

Kris Allen singing “Ain’t No Sunshine” by Bill Withers.  Kris seems like a nice guy and he’s got a good voice.  I don’t think I’m going to remember this performance, but it’s good!  Not anything ground breaking, but he did take an old song and make it modern, which was his goal.  Actually, this is quite good.  Probably one of the best of the night.  Randy loved and thought it was one of the best, Paula loved it, Kara thought it was “artistry” (I thought Simon said that was forbidden?), Simon thought he showed confidence and he liked the arrangement.

I personally think Scott, Anoop, maybe Matt, and(unfortunately) Megan are all at risk.  I could be completely wrong, but that is my prediction.

Alright that’s it for tonight’s episode of American Idol.  Who do you think is in troube tonight?  Who did you really like?  Look for the American Idol in a few minutes, and leave your comments below or e-mail us at theconservativejournal@gmail.com.

Thanks for reading!

Rick

  • *Tomorrow night I won’t be able to recap the results show, but I should be able to post somthine when I watch it on Thursday.
3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “American Idol Top 9 Recap

  1. Doom

    Geeeze……….I can’t believe I wasted 2 minutes reading this garbage.

    Hey Rick, you really need to raise your very low standards. I guess you’ve been watching AI since season one, eh?

    • Well I hate that you didn’t like it.

      I don’t understand what you mean by low standards. And no, I’m not a faithful watcher. I’ve watched on and off since the end of Season 2, but I’ve never been a huge fan.

      Thanks for commenting! I hate you didn’t like the recap.

      Rick

  2. Pingback: Week In Review: March 29th- April 4th « The Conservative Journal

Leave a Reply

