American Idol Top 7 (Again) Recap

Tonight’s wonderful theme on this grand show that is American Idol is:  Disco!  Woo!  This is going to be a night, I am sure.  And thankfully, it appears that we are back to the 4 judge format this week.  That’s good news.  Wow, they got this episode started soon.  I guess they got tired of causing me to miss the last few minutes of Fringe when I have to TiVo it.  Kicking off the show tonight is…

Lil Rounds who is singing “I’m Every Woman” by Chaka Khan.  Oh boy Lil, this is not going to go well.  I don’t understand why she can’t pick a good song.  The beginning wasn’t that terrible, but it’s getting worse.  Yeah that wasn’t good.  Lil will no doubt be leaving us tomorrow night; it’s definitely her time.  Oooh, the judges hate this mess.  But in Lil’s defense, they are being a little too difficult with her.  They’re clearly throwing her right under the bus.  And then backing up and doing it again.  Simon thinks it’s her final night, so he’s glad she enjoyed it.  Yeah, I agree.  Next up is…

Kris Allen singing “She Works Hard For The Money” by Donna Summer.  Wow, this is going to be interesting.  As I’ve said many times, Kris is the only guy that I like left in the competition.  I also think he’s the most relevant contestant left, with the exception of maybe Allison.  And this song proves that even more.  How he can take this Donna Summer and turn it into this cool, acoustic song blows my mind.  Great performance.  Kara thinks the risk paid off big time, Paula indirectly equates him to a a cross dresser by telling him that he “shops in the woman’s department often”, Simon thought it was fantastic, and Randy thought it was great and Kris knows who he is as an artist.  Next up is…

Danny Gokey singing “September” by Earth, Wind, and Fire.  Oh gosh, the first thing that comes to mind is more of those terrible dance moves.  I’m sure the singing will be overdone and I will hate it.  And of course I’m right.  I don’t know what it is, but he just puts me in a terrible mood.  He is more smug than David Cook was last year and his attitude sucks.  The performance wasn’t bad, and he has a good voice.  I just can’t stand him.  Randy thought he worked it out, Kara thought he had great pitch, Paula liked that he showed his brilliance and said he has the sexiest voice, and Simon said he can’t fault the vocals, but thought there was no star power in the performance.  Woo, Simon can’t stand him either.  Of course Paula had to remind everyone he’s still got a spot in the finals.  Ugh.  Next up is…

Allison Iraheta singing “Hot Stuff” by Donna Summer.  Allison is probably my favorite contestant left.  I think after Megan left, I needed some one to fill the “quirk” void that Megan filled, and Allison does that well.  Allison has an incredible voice.  This sounds a lot better than last week, which was still really good.  I hope Allison goes far after Idol, because I think she has great potential.  Man, that last note was incredible!  Randy liked the vocals but not the arrangement, Kara agreed with Randy, Paula thought it was great, and Simon said it was a brilliant performance.  Next up is…

Adam Lambert singing “If I Can’t Have You” by Yvonne Elliman.  Looks like Adam has picked the calmed down version for this week, which surprises me.  This week gave him plenty of opportunities to screech through his 90 seconds.  But I could be wrong, it just started.  This is probably his weakest performance.  Because in all honesty, when you take out the screeching, high notes, wailing, he really isn’t THAT special to me.  It’s not bad, but it’s slow and I don’t think it ever really went anywhere.  Randy starts screaming at me that Adam is a hot one tonight; Kara thought it was brilliant and his most memorable performance?  I was thinking the EXACT opposite;  Paula started a sentence with “You chose to pick a disco song [pause]….” and I was like, yeah Paula, they all did;  Simon thought it was original and memorable.  Man I guess I was watching something else.  Oh well.  Next up is…

Matt Giraud a.k.a the man of many chances singing “Stayin’ Alive” by the Bee Gees.  Oooh Matt Giraud.  I do not enjoy his singing in any way shape or form.  I don’t know why he continues to assault us with his terrbile falsetto.  It’s just so horrible.  Oh Matt, this is a mess.  It’s all over the place and the constant little vocal add-ons and dragging notes out for 10 minutes apeice is not working out.  Sorry, but I think you are gone for good.  Randy thought it was the best group of 7 they’ve had.  Ummm… no.Kara likes to see him move (hopefully out the door), Paula says he’s staying and something about bowling, and Simon didn’t like it.  Next up is…

Anoop Desai singing “Dim All The Lights” by Donna Summer.  Man Anoop is boring.  He managed to turn a disco song into a snooze fest.  This is a real sleeper right here, I’ve gotta say.  And just when I was starting to like him.  It improves as it goes on, and there was a really good note in there that he held for a while.  It definitely got  better as it went on, with the exception of the last night, but overall it was boring and just okay.  Randy thought his voice was awesome and replayed what he said about the top 7 being awesome, Kara thought the song choice was great, Paula said a lot that meant nothing, and Simon disagreed with everyone and said it was mediocre at best.

Scoreboard- Top 7

  • Kris Allen- A
  • Allison Iraheta- A
  • Adam Lambert- B+
  • Danny Gokey-B-
  • Anoop Desai- C+
  • Matt Giraud- C
  • Lil Rounds- C-

What did you think about the show?  Leave your comments below or e-mail us at theconservativejouranl@gmail.com.  Don’t forget to check back in later to vote in the poll!  Also, be sure and subscribe to the RSS Feed by clicking here so you never miss an update, or subscribe to the daily newsletter here.

Thanks for stopping by!

Rick

4 Comments

Filed under American Idol, Entertainment, No Politics Tuesday, Television

4 responses to “American Idol Top 7 (Again) Recap

  1. Pingback: Poll of the Day: Who Was Your Favorite on American Idol? « The Conservative Journal

  2. stockresearch52

    Four judge format is interesting one.

    • I agree. I know I like it much better than last weeks alternating judges nonsense, but I’m not sure if I prefer the original 3 over the 4 we have this season.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Rick

  3. Pingback: Week In Review: April 19th-25th « The Conservative Journal

Leave a Reply

