September 20th News Bits and Pieces: Terrorism, ACORN, Governor Paterson, and 30 Rock

First off, sorry for the lack of posts this weekend, it’s been extremely busy.  This week is going to busy as well, but I’m going to try my hardest to have time to post on a semi-regular schedule.  But for now, here’s your bits and pieces:

News and Politics

Urgent probe underway of possible Al Qaeda-linked terror plot

This one really scared me.  I’m just beyond happy that they were able to nip this in the bud before anything happened.  If they were direct links to Al-Qaeda then they obviously meant business.  Score 1 for the U.S.

NY governor ignores pressure to end election quest

Ahh Governor Paterson, you’re just in your own world.  He currently has some of the lowest numbers of any New York Governor, but he’s still standing firm in his plans to seek re-election.  That’s determination right there.  Personally, I don’t care either way because I don’t live in New York.  However, I do know that the longer he stays and the further his poll numbers drop, the more likely it is that a Republican has a shot for the seat.

President Says ACORN Should Be Investigated

Honestly, I’m surprised he knows anything about the scandal.  I’m glad that he thinks an investigation is in order, but his comments were dismissive of the issue.  “It’s not something I’ve followed closely” were his exact words, and I just don’t see the reason for that.  While he’s right in saying that it’s not the biggest issue facing our country, I do think it’s a much bigger issue than something to just place on the back burner.

Ex-aide says Edwards fathered mistress’ child

I’m sure this “ex-aid” is extremely reliable, but I believe it even without his/her anonymous help.  John Edwards is the scum of the earth and this doesn’t really surprise me one bit.  Is it not bad enough to have an affair with a woman while your dying wife lies in the hospital?  So, you have to go and have a child with her?  Zero. Morals.

ACORN scaling back or shutting down in many cities

Goooood, this is a good start and the first step to totally erasing ACORN from the map.  I think if an organization that did what ACORN was made to existed, it would be very beneficial to society.  ACORN is just so very corrupt that it’s impossible for them to do anything honestly.  They can’t even be honest about why they’re shutting down: they say it has a lot to do with the economy, but wouldn’t a recession be prime time for a group that profits off people that make little money trying to get any government programs their eligible for?

Entertainment

’30 Rock’ Wins Top Comedy Emmy

Dang, I was pulling for “The Office” to take the top comedy spot this year!  I don’t even know if it was nominated, but I think it’s funnier than 30 Rock, Tina Fey must choose the winner.  I also can’t believe that American Idol hasn’t won best reality show.  I didn’t realize anyone watched “The Amazing Race” and it’s won for the past 7 years.  You learn something new every day.

High School Students Flunk Civics Test

This is just sad.  If I were Oklahoma, I’d be very discouraged right about now.  It’s totally unacceptable that a mere 25% know who the first president of the United States is.  I’m sure that these same results are found throughout the country but that’s no excuse.  92% of immigrants who take this test pass, why can’t actual citizens of the country do the same?

What do you think of the news of the day?  Leave your comments below or send an e-mail to theconservativejournal@gmail.com.  Don’t forget to bookmark The Conservative Journal and sign up for the RSS Feed and the daily e-mail newsletter.

Also, Deluxe Membership is now available, click here to join for free and you could win a brand new netbook!

Thanks for reading!

Rick

Also, be sure and use the new rating feature, found at the bottom of comments and posts!

2 Comments

Filed under Bits and Pieces

2 responses to “September 20th News Bits and Pieces: Terrorism, ACORN, Governor Paterson, and 30 Rock

  1. As for the terror plot. It’s going to happen. It’s just a question of when. They will do the same here as they do in the middle east. It’s just a question of when. America will really change (and for the good) when that happens.

    Have a terrific day. 🙂

    • I’m afraid I have to agree. I just hope we’re ready for the aftermath when it does happen. And I do agree that we’ll come back stronger than ever.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting! Hope to see you again.

      Rick

Leave a Reply

