September 23rd News Bits and Pieces: Mackenzie Phillips, ACORN, Swine Flu, and Michael Jackson

News and Politics

Giant Squid Found in Gulf, Oregon

Gah, that thing is huge!  I wish there were more people in the private sector who were willing to search for creatures as fascinating as the giant squid.  If I had unlimited money, I’d be sure and set apart a good portion of it to search for bizarre creatures like the Loch Ness Monster and Bigfoot.

Palin Knocks Fed in Hong Kong Speech

I’m glad to hear that those who got to see the speech felt like she at least knew what she was talking about.  My rational mind is telling me otherwise, but I just want to believe that Sarah Palin is still a viable candidate for the presidency.  I’m sure I’ll take flack for this from the more center-left-of-center readers (if there are any), but I do think she’d be a great president if she spent a few years in the senate getting more familiar with foreign affairs and the technicalities of the office of the presidency.  But then again, I’m overly optimistic.

ACORN Sues Filmmakers

I sure hope this lawsuit proves unsuccessful because then I’ll lose all faith in our government.  I figured ACORN would pursue the lawsuit, but I’m just hoping the judge it appears before has enough sense to send it back out the door.

CNN’s Gupta Gets H1N1 Flu in Afghanistan

Someone forget to cough into his arm rather than his hand!

Entertainment

Mackenzie Phillips Reveals She Slept With Her Own Father

This really is a shame.  It’s hard to imagine that someone could get so into drugs that she has a 10 year affair with her father.  I wish Mackenzie the best and hope that hopefully she’s cleaned up her act.  If I’m remembering correctly she had a very interesting singing voice, and I hope she hasn’t totally lost it.

New Michael Jackson Single, ‘This Is It,’ Out On October 12

I don’t really know how I feel about a song being released after the artists death.  Chances are I won’t like the song anyway so it doesn’t really matter.

What do you think about today’s news of the day?  Leave your comments below or send an e-mail to theconservativejournal@gmail.com.  Don’t forget to bookmark The Conservative Journal and sign up for the RSS Feed and the daily e-mail newsletter.

Also, Deluxe Membership is now available, click here to join for free and you could win a brand new netbook!

Thanks for reading!

Rick

Also, be sure and use the new rating feature, found at the bottom of comments and posts!

10 Comments

Filed under Bits and Pieces

10 responses to “September 23rd News Bits and Pieces: Mackenzie Phillips, ACORN, Swine Flu, and Michael Jackson

  1. I’m so happy to see ACORN squirm. They are so very corrupt and have been for a very long time. The world knows now.

    As for Sarah. I love her to pieces, but I don’t think she will ever be elected president. She is so feared by the left.

    As for Michael Jackson? I don’t care one way or another. I won’t be buying anything MJ either.

    Have a terrific day. 🙂

  2. Deanna

    Michael Jackson was one of the first musicians I became a fan of (I’m an ’80s kid). I have a credit on iTunes so I will more than likely buy the song unless I cannot stand it (like “Crash” by the Dave Matthews Band). :O

  3. Julie

    I heard a radio spot today about MJ today from an interview he granted shortly before his death. It included his accounts of the beatings he from got his father. The last sound byte was something derogatory he said about Madonna. It reminded me that we must always be careful about the things we say as they may well be among our ‘last words.’

    • I haven’t heard that clip yet. I’ll have to go look for it. You’re exactly right though, you never which words will be your last.

      Thanks for the comment Julie! Hope to see you again.

      Rick

  4. Julie

    I always wondered what pushed Mackenzie Phillips over the edge into her downward spiral of depression and drug abuse when life was going so well for her. I guess we all know now…

    • Yeah, I’m sure the affair played a part in it. I’m interested in seeing where this goes from here because I read yesterday that one of her sisters is saying the affair couldn’t have happened. I don’t know why Mackenzie would lie about such a thing, but I also don’t know she’d say something about it in the first place.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting, hope to see you again!

      Rick

  5. If I had an unlimited amount of money–sure I’d wanna find Bigfoot or the Loch Ness Monster–but I’d pay someone else to do it, I’m no fool, but I am a fraidy cat.
    I think you hit the nail on the head about Palin–she does need to “grow” up a bit to fit those big, political shoes.
    As for Mackenzie Phillips, I always knew she was an addict, but why come out with this devastating (and humiliating) tell all now? Is she really going to get that sense of closure and feel better about her disatrous life by putting it all out there?? (((puzzled)))

    I don’t really know what to say about MJ. Its just sad and I feel like everyone in his camp has their hand out. I truly hope someone is looking into the best interests of those kids. He might have been weird, but those kids really loved him. I lost my Dad at a young age too, so my heart goes out to them.
    I will say that I am getting tired of all these celebrity drug related deaths, and having to explain the deets to my kids–who think being famous is cool and glamorous.

    • I don’t understand the Mackenzie Phillips situation either. It just doesn’t make sense as to why she’d come out about the affair ever. It’s great to be transparent, but some things are really okay to keep under wraps.

      I know MJ didn’t OD on his own, but all the celebrities who have ODed on their own serve to prove that money doesn’t buy you happiness (it looks like it only buys you drugs). I also feel for Michael’s kids and it stops about right there. The rest of his family is trying to squeeze whatever money they can out of his passing and that is despicable.

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting! Hope to see you again.

      Rick

Leave a Reply

